Members


Primary Researcher

Manish Chhowalla, Ph.D.
Full Professor

Office: CCR114
Phone: 732–445–5619
E-mail: manish1@rci.rutgers.edu

Prof. Chhowalla's Brief CV

Post-Doctoral Associates


Jieun Yang, Ph.D.

Office: FO209
E-mail: jieun.yang@rutgers.edu

Jieun's Brief CV

Novel applications of chemically exfoliated layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)


Abdul Rahman Mohmad, Ph.D.

Office: FO209
E-mail: a.r.mohmad@rutgers.edu

Rahman's Brief CV

Novel applications of layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)

Xiuju Song (宋秀菊), Ph.D.

Office: CCR135
E-mail: xiuju.song@rutgers.edu

Xiuju's Brief CV

Chemical vapor deposition of layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)

Shengwen Liu, Ph.D.

Office: CCR112
E-mail: shengwen.liu@rutgers.edu

Shengwen's Brief CV

Novel applications of chemically exfoliated layered transition metal dichalcogenides

Graduate Students


Ibrahim Bozkurt


Office: FO209
Email: ibrahim.bozkurt@rutgers.edu

Chemical vapor deposition of layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)



Sol Torrel


Office: FO209
Email: sol.torrel@rutgers.edu

Novel applications of layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)



Daniel Kaplan


Office: FO209
Email: dkap87@gmail.com

Novel applications of chemically exfoliated layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)



Raymond Fullon


Office: FO209
Email: raymond.fullon@rutgers.edu

Raymond's Brief CV

Solar applications of chemically exfoliated layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)



Yan Wang


Office: FO209
Email: yan.wang@rutgers.edu

Yan's Brief CV

Novel applications of chemically exfoliated layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)



Visiting Scholars



Bangjun (Jason) Guo


Office: FO209
Email: bangjun.guo@rutgers.edu

Jason's's Brief CV

Jason is a visiting graduate student from East China Normal University.




Anne Cardenas


Office: FO209
Email: anne_cardenas19@outlook.com

Anne's's Brief CV

Anne is a visiting undergraduate student and RiSE 2017 Fellow from the University of California, San Diego.


Undergraduate Students


Kerem Sahiner

Office: FO209
E-mail: ks1064@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Kerem is a junior undergraduate student in MSE and minoring in physics. He is working on MoS2 growth



Shyama Shah

Office: FO209
E-mail: ss2645@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Shyama is a sophomore undergraduate student in BME working on graphene



Catherine Estelle Nkoutche Matsingang

Office: FO209
E-mail: ecn36@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Estelle is a junior undergraduate student working with Dr. Yang.



Elisbelka Jimenez

Office: FO209
E-mail:

Elisbelka is a junior undergraduate student working with Dr. Yang.



Brian Macdowall

Office: FO209
E-mail: bjm204@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Brian is a junior undergraduate student from the Materials Science & Engineering department working with Dr. Yang.



Eshana Bethur

Office: FO209
E-mail: ejb214@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Eshana is a freshman undergraduate student working with graduate student Yan Wang.



Vandana Gollarhalli

Office: FO209
E-mail: vandana.gollarhalli@gmail.com

Vandana is a freshman undergraduate student working with Jacob Kupferberg.


Former Group Members

2016

Muharrem Acerce

Position in the group: Doctoral Student
Contact: ma809@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Damien Voiry, Ph.D.

Position in the group: Post-Doctoral Associate
Currently: CNRS Assistant Staff Scientist at the European Institute of Membrane in Montpellier, France
Contact: damien.voiry@umontpellier.fr
Damien's Brief CV

2014

Rajesh Kappera

Position in the group: Doctoral Student
Contact: raj.kappera@rutgers.edu
Rajesh's Brief CV

2013

Maryam Salehi

Position in the group: Master's student
Contact: salehi.maryam67@gmail.com


2012

Hisato Yamaguchi, Ph.D.

Position in the group: Postdoctoral Associate
Currently: Post-doctural Fellow at Los Alamos National Laboratory

Juliet Defino, M.S.

Position in the group: Master's Student
Currently: Tech assurance scientist at Johnson & Johnson
Contact: jdefino2@gmail.com

2010

Wojtek Tutak, Ph.D.

Position in the group: Doctoral student (Winner of Corning Scholarship)
Currently: NRC postdoctral fellow at NIST
Contact: wojtek@eden.rutgers.edu

Sara Reynaud, Ph.D.

Position in the group: Doctoral student
Currently: Postdoctoral associate at Rutgers University
Contact: sreynaud@eden.rutgers.edu

Varun Gupta, Ph.D.

Position in the group: Doctoral student
Currently: Intel Corp.
Contact: guptav@eden.rutgers.edu

2009

Cecilia Mattevi, Ph.D.

Position in the group: Postdoctral associate
Currently: Junior Research Fellow at Imperial College London
Contact: c.mattevi@imperial.ac.uk

Goki Eda, Ph.D.

Position in the group: Doctoral student
Currently: NRF Fellow Assistant Professor at National University of Singapore
Contact: g.eda@nus.edu.sg (Goki's Brief CV)

Hokwon Kim

Position in the group: Doctoral student
Currently: Postdoctoral Researcher at CEA, France
Contact: hokwon.kim@cea.fr

2008

Giovanni Fanchini, Ph.D.

Position in the group: Postdoctral associate
Currently: Assistant Professor (Canadian Research Chair) at the University of Western Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Seung-Yol Jeong, Ph.D.

Position in the group: Postdoctral associate
Currently: The Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute (KERI)
Contact:

Bhavin Parekh, M.S.

Position in the group: Master's student
Currently: Senior Scientist at Nanomech LLC, AR
Contact:

Alokik Kanwal, Ph.D.

Position in the group: Doctoral student
Currently: Postdoctoral researcher at New Jersey Institute of Technology
Contact: alokik@njit.edu

Steve Miller, Ph.D.

Position in the group: Doctoral student
Currently: Research Associate at Rutgers University
Contact: stevemil@rci.rutgers.edu

Husnu Emrah Unalan, Ph.D.

Position in the group: Doctoral student
Currently: Assistant Professor at Middle East Technical University, Turkey (Winner of Outstanding Young Investigator Award in Turkey)
Contact: unalan@metu.edu.tr

Shashi Paul, Ph.D.

Position in the group: Postdoctral associate
Currently: Head of the Emerging Technology Centre at De Montfort University, UK
Contact:

Former Visitors

2016

Eva Yifan Zhang
Position in the group: Undergraduate Visitor
Contact: zhangyf.jlu@gmail.com

Jessica Johnson
Position in the group: RiSE Scholar Visitor
Contact: Jessica.Johnson56@myhunter.cuny.edu

Sin Ki Lai (Kate)
Position in the group: Graduate Visitor
Contact: katelaisinki@gmail.com

Qin Liu
Position in the group: Graduate Visitor
Contact: qin0623@mail.ustc.edu.cn

Yan Wang
Position in the group: Graduate Visitor
Contact: wangyan_ss@sz.pku.edu.cn

YoonJeong Jang
Position in the group: Undergraduate Visitor
Contact: yj931204@gmail.com

2015

Yang Song
Position in the group: Undergraduate Visitor
Contact: yangsong913@gmail.com

Claire Quanchoa Du
Position in the group: Undergraduate Visitor
Contact: 18844191349@163.com

George Bepete
Position in the group: Post-Doctoral Visitor
Contact: gbepete@gmail.com

Xiao Wang
Position in the group: Undergraduate Visitor
Contact: superwx7@gmail.com

Geetika Khurana
Position in the group: Graduate Visitor
Contact: geetkhurana84@gmail.com

2014

Cecilia C. C. Silva
Position in the group: Graduate Visitor
Contact: cecsilva@iqm.unicamp.br

 

Yan (Gloria) Gui

Position in the group: Undergraduate Visitor
Contact: guiyan@shu.edu.cn

2013


Pengfei Xu (Jack)

Position in the group: Undergraduate Visitor



Congsen Wu

Position in the group: Undergraduate Visitor



Ah Young Kim

Position in the group: Undergraduate Visitor
Contact :dkdud4u@unist.ac.kr


2012

Jieun Yang

Position in the group: Graduate Visitor
Contact : jieun@unist.ac.kr



Piljae Joo

Position in the group: Graduate Visitor
Contact : drpil6811@unist.ac.kr



Seongjoon Ahn

Position in the group: Undergraduate Visitor



Diego Alves

Position in the group: Graduate Visitor
Contact : diego.c.b.physicist@gmail.com


2011

George Bepete

Position in the group: Graduate Visitor

Contact : bepete@crpp-bordeaux.cnrs.fr
Currently: Postdoctoral researcher at CRPP, France

 

Former undergraduates

2017


Jacob Kupferberg

Position in the group: Undergraduate Student
E-mail: jek189@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
Currently: Graduate student in the MSE department at Northwestern University


2016

Michaela Csorny (Rutgers University)

Wesley Chang (Rutgers University)

Mikio LaCapra (Rutgers University)

2015

Mingxiang Chen (Rutgers University)

Wesley Jen (Rutgers University)

Calvin Lee (Rutgers University)

Daniel Kondracki (Rutgers Universiy)

Dustin Ng (Rutgers Universiy)

Elisa Kowk (Rutgers Universiy)

2014

Sheel Sanghvi (Rutgers University, now a graduate student at Northwestern University)

Eunhee Kim (Rutgers University)

Tristan Turner (Rutgers University)

2013

Jaesung Kim (Rutgers University, now a graduate student at University of California, Los Angeles)

2012

Sarah Snyder (Rutgers, University, now a Graduate Student at University of Michigan)

Ethan Chen (Rutgers University)

Austin Geary (Rutgers University)

Alibek Medetbekov (Rutgers University)

2011

Adrian Clarke (Rise summer scholar from MIT)

Jatin Khanna (Summer intern from Cornell)

Primary Researcher

Manish Chhowalla, Ph.D.

Full Professor

Office: CCR114
Phone: 732–445–5619
E-mail: manish1@rci.rutgers.edu

Prof. Chhowalla's Brief CV



Post-Doctoral Associates

Jieun Yang, Ph.D.

Office: FO209
E-mail: jieun.yang@rutgers.edu

Jieun's Brief CV

Novel applications of chemically exfoliated layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)




Abdul Rahman Mohmad, Ph.D.

Office: FO209
E-mail: a.r.mohmad@rutgers.edu

Rahman's Brief CV

Novel applications of layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)




Xiuju Song (宋秀菊), Ph.D.

Office: CCR135
E-mail: xiuju.song@rutgers.edu

Xiuju's Brief CV

Chemical vapor deposition of layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)




Shengwen Liu, Ph.D.

Office: CCR112
E-mail: shengwen.liu@rutgers.edu

Shengwen's Brief CV

Novel applications of layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)




Graduate Students

Ibrahim Bozkurt

Office: FO209
Email: ibrahim.bozkurt@rutgers.edu

Chemical vapor deposition of layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)




Sol Torrel

Office: FO209
Email: s_torrel@yahoo.com

Novel applications of chemically exfoliated layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)




Daniel Kaplan

Office: FO209
Email: dkap87@gmail.com

Novel applications of chemically exfoliated layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)




Raymond Fullon

Office: FO209
Email: raymond.fullon@rutgers.edu

Solar applications of chemically exfoliated layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)




Yan Wang

Office: FO209
Email: yan.wang@rutgers.edu

Novel applications of chemically exfoliated layered transition metal dichalcogenides (LTMDs)